How to use GPIO pins as input and output on bolt

Hi,

Of the 4 GPIO pins how can I use one GPIO as input and the other three as output? If you can show be a java script for it that would be great.

I am new to java script so its kind of hard to understand how to implement digital Write, Read and Analog Read functions on javascript.

Thanks

Hi @mailtoaswinth,

Let me correct you there, the Bolt has 1 analog input, and 5 GPIOs.

To use a GPIO as an input simply configure it for monitoring in the hardware section of the product configuration.

To use any GPIO as an output, you can use the following code in the product code configurations.

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html>

<head>

<title>Bolt IoT Platform</title>

<script type="text/javascript" src="https://cloud.boltiot.com/static/js/boltCommands.js"></script>

<script>

setKey('{{ApiKey}}','{{Name}}');

</script>

</head>

<body>

<center>

<button onclick="digitalWrite(0, 'HIGH');">ON</button>

<button onclick="digitalWrite(0, 'LOW');">OFF</button>

</center>

</body>

</html>

You can have as many buttons in the code as you want.
The above code allows you control over pin 0, to control the other pin, just change the number β€˜0’ inside the digitalWrite function to the pin number that you want to control.

1 Like

Yup thanks for correcting me there. It took some time to crunch it out but now I understand.

So bolt cannot take any actions on its own, all the logic have to be implemented on the cloud. Say for example if I have to glow an LED when a push button is pressed. I have to check the input pin status using an API and then based on the result form API I have to use another API to toggle the status of the output pin right?

I am not much comfortable with javascript and HTML so I went with python and used the below code to blink an LED. (API key and ID have been edited)

import requests

import time

while True: